PARTNER COUNTRIES NEIGHBOURING THE EU⁸

Western Balkans (Region 1)	Eastern Partnership countries (Region 2)	South-Mediterranean countries (Region 3)	Russian Federation (Region 4)
Albania	Armenia	Algeria	Territory of Russia as recognised
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Azerbaijan	Egypt	by international law
Kosovo ⁹	Belarus	Israel	
Montenegro	Georgia	Jordan	
Serbia	Moldova	Lebanon	
	Territory of Ukraine as	Libya	
	recognised by international	Morocco	
	law	Palestine ¹⁰	
		Syria	
		Tunisia	

OTHER PARTNER COUNTRIES

Some Actions of the Programme are open to any Partner Country of the world listed below. For some other Actions the geographical scope is less broad.

The Partner Countries below are regrouped according to the financial instruments of the EU external action.

Region 5	Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State, Switzerland		
Region 6 ¹¹	Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia,		
Asia	Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam		
Region 7 ¹²	Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan		
Central Asia			
Region 8 ¹³	Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Hondu-		
Latin America	ras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela		
Region 9 ¹⁴	Iran, Iraq, Yemen		
Region 10 ¹⁵	South Africa		
Region 11 ¹⁶	Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi,		
ACP	Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo - Democratic Republic of the, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia- Federated States of, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Timor Leste - Democratic Republic of, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.		
Region 12 ¹⁷	Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.		

⁸ The eligibility criteria formulated in commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide, including with respect to third parties receiving financial support in the cases where the respective action involves financial support to third parties by grant beneficiaries in accordance with article 137 of the EU's Financial Regulation.

- ¹⁴ As above.
- ¹⁵ As above.

⁹ This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence. ¹⁰ This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this

issue. ¹¹ Classification used in the framework of the Development and Cooperation Instrument (DCI).

¹² As above.

¹³ As above.

¹⁶ Indicative only. Subject to the provisions of the revised Cotonou Partnership Agreement and multiannual financial framework 2014-2020.



Industrialised: Gulf Cooperation countries	
Region 13 ¹⁸ Other	Australia, Brunei, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, (Republic of) Korea, Macao, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, United States of America.
Industrialised countries	

For more information, please consult the detailed description of the Actions of the Programme in the Part B of this Guide.

REQUIREMENTS REGARDING VISA AND RESIDENCE PERMITS

Participants in Erasmus+ projects may need to obtain a visa for staying abroad in the Programme or Partner Country hosting the activity. It is a responsibility of all the participating organisations to ensure that the authorisations required (short or long-term stay visas or residence permits) are in order before the planned activity takes place. It is strongly recommended that the authorisations are requested from the competent authorities well in advance, since the process may take several weeks. National Agencies and the Executive Agency may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc. The EU Immigration Portal contains general information on visa and residence permits, for both short-term and long-term stays: http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/tab2.do?subSec=11&language=7\$en.

¹⁷ Classification used in the framework of the Partnership Instrument (PI).

¹⁸ Classification used in the framework of the Partnership Instrument (PI).